Maine Native People

I have been looking through old images online of the native people from Maine, and Im fascinated by them. The 4 distinct native american tribes that lived around here when white settlers arrived were the Mi’kmaq , Maliseet, Penobscot and Passamoquoddy. All are generally referred to together as Abenaki (or Wabenaki) which means “People of the Dawn”.

Newly emerging archaeological evidence slightly to our north seems to indicate that the native people here were visited much earlier by europeans than previously understood. Evidence seems to suggest that the scandinavian people who came here by boat looking for natural resources probably also spent some winters here and traded and most likely also befriended and interbred with the local native Americans.

I’m interested in their arts and crafts and the beaded designs which seem to be influenced both by other eastern tribes’ native woodland designs but also seem reminiscent of some Scandinavian motifs. Or was it the other way around? Check out the pointy elvish hats some of them wore.

1dddc3db0dcc9258795e520d03bb66a2

Maliseet woman 1884, no name or location given.

624f5d61f2051b8f807a82b17278c91a

Sockalexis Newell (1874-1952) at his home in Locke Mills, Maine.

imgres Penobscot girls, no date given.

aafd677698a786a1c82dcae931195b1ePenobscot girl 1858

images

Mi’kmaq group including Madeline Toney (second from the right) near Bear River in Nova Scotia – 1910

a2bb221d6566bf9215b7f002aca7433d Chief Big Thunder , Maliseet – 1907

46bb47e2ea04e9a5455d9732e5199b56Penobscot , 1937

785a8c9fcafbf5f02082a298fc749b1f

Traditional MikMaq hunting shelter.

47525f66f664d46d4c5db48b70b4e852Penobscot Chief Howard Ranco, 1933.

images Joseph Nicholas, wife Margaret Bassett Nicholas and child, 1921 Indian Village, Maine – Passamaquoddy

Passamoquoddy group 1910

7152e564e8857634a647c22c09d69d65

Penobscot and Passamaquoddy group from Old Town, Maine at Plymouth, Massachusetts for the Plymouth Tercentenary Celebrations – 1921

612acac1b428e6a4e4d2ddb75a5e2f09

Passamaquoddy women , 1910. No names or location given.

Indians - Chief Neptune of the Passamaquoddy tribe (Maine?) here on way to Plymouth

Chief Neptune , Passamaquoddy, 1921.

 

ca25d7450b60cc3c27fd552b1d997cc9

Gabe Paul in beaded costume, September 10, 1913

7c0750f4f418f3d46ae1a1a25068845a

Mi’kmaq woman “Postcard photograph of Elizabeth , daughter of ‘Dr.’ Jeremiah Lonecloud, medicine man of the Micmac tribe.” Added: “This is probably Annie Gloade, Lonecloud’s mistress.

imgres-4Micmac  family photo

imgres-3

Photograph taken circa 1880, is one of the earliest known photographic images of a member of the Mi’kmaq. Molly Miuse was born about 1810 to Joseph and Nancy (Malagash) Muise. In this photograph she is seen wearing the traditional peaked cap with a double curve design.

wabanaki_8

1901 photo of Mary Mitchell-Selmore (aka Big Mary) the wife of Sopiel Selmore – Passamaquoddy

4918033dcc8a12266e024234b3c1de58

Back row L-R: Edward Tremblay, John Sappier, Unknown Front row L-R: Noel Moulton, Edward Francis – Maliseet – c. 1900

imgres-2 1871 -Christianne Morris (Micmac) was known for her exquisite work in the traditional arts, supporting her family by the sale of quillwork and basketry.
Her needlework, quillwork, splint basketry, and even a full-sized canoe and paddles all won first prizes at various provincial exhibitions. She once sold two beaded costumes to Indian Commissioner William Chearnley for the impressive sum of $300.

imgres-11866-Gabriel Acquin was known by a variety of names; Sachem Gabe and Noel Gabriel being the most verifiable. He was a Maliseet hunter, guide, interpreter and showman.

imgres

Micmac couple. The name “Micmac” is from the Micmac Mi:’maq, the plural form ofMi:k’mawaj, “one of high ability,” a word derived from Mi”k’amwesu, the name of a legendary forest dweller with supernatural power. At the time of contact, the Micmac occupied what is now eastern New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and the Gaspé Peninsula of Quebec. In historic times, the Micmac colonized Newfoundland.  Micmac also migrated in significant numbers from their Canadian reserves to cities and towns in Ontario, Quebec, Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, and new Jersey;  often spending years or decades in these places before returning to the reserves, often to retire.

1912 Cheif Neptune and wife, Passamaquoddy , Eastport

Passamaquoddy Native artist Tomah Joseph created delicate images on birchbark of the natural world. He lived each summer on Campobello Island , where he became close friends with the President Franklin Roosevelt. Through his artwork, Joseph remembered, retold and recorded the traditions of his ancestors.

1921-CHIEF-Horace-Nicholas-on-left_-Joseph-Nicholas-center_-Joseph-Neptune-on-right-dancingDemonstrating a traditional Passamaquoddy dance in this photo from 1921 are Chief Horace Nicholas (far left), Joseph Nicholas (center), and Joseph Neptune (right).

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by rachelmoses. Bookmark the permalink.

About rachelmoses

I am a mother and a wife. I homeschooled my two amazing children for five years. I am a professional horticulturalist who runs a seasonal plant nursery business from home since the year 2000. I have been a Certified Lactation Consultant for eight years, and farmers' market creator and manager for 13 years. Im a floral designer and a sporadic artist who can not choose just one medium: painter, sculptor, maker of sparkly jewlery, dyer, spinner, knitter, fiber artist, photographer, writer, wreath maker, collage artist, confectioner. Im a collector of ideas, facts and interesting rocks. I spend a lot of time reading dense medical and scientific articles, and have a specific interest in improving maternal/child health. I love and live very near the ocean. I prefer misty or unsettled weather and my favorite temperature is 60 degrees f. If I could, I would spend most of my summer days swimming and exploring in clear, cool lakes and streams. I adore fuzzy creatures but also appreciate amphibians. I keep a flock of chickens and ducks. Im a bee keeper, recently Ive become a just-for-fun recreational lobster woman, and I am a terrible housekeeper.

5 thoughts on “Maine Native People

  1. The photographs of the beautiful native peoples and their traditional outfits are impressive. I too wonder about their elf hats and why they selected that design for their chapeaus? Maybe it helped in the snow the way a strongly pitched roof permits snowfalls to slide off! Lovely research you are accomplishing into lovely people. This land was their land.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?

    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors
    would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a
    lot!

    • Sorry, i have not checked my email in weeks. Yes no problem. Yes, just please give me credit if you quote me or photo credit if you use any of my images.

  3. Johnnie Ranco is my great grandfather.. Trying to figure out my family heritage.. Fascinated, by my heritage but trying to figure out how I’m related to chief Howard Ranco..I’m thinking he’s my great grandfathers brother.. God wish I could have met them, before my time unfortunately, wishing I grew up on the reservation instead of foster homes.. If anyone sees this and knows the answer, feel free to contact me at jackibeall80@gmail.com

  4. They are my ancestors!
    I’m just wondering what us the significant of the enbroided swatika cross on chef Neptune collar ( photo of him in 1921)

Leave a comment